Padma Awards 2014

 Vidya Balan has established a successful career in Hindi language films of Bollywood and is the recipient of one National Film Award, five Filmfare Awards, and five Screen Awards, and was awarded the Padma Shri by the Government of India. She is known for portraying strong female protagonists and has been acknowledged in the media for breaking stereotypes of a Hindi film heroine.



Dr. Milind V. Kirtane received his M.S. degree in ENT from Seth G.S. Medical College and King Edward Memorial Hospital, Mumbai, India. He is a Consulting ENT Surgeon at P. D. Hinduja National Hospital and Medical Research Centre, Mumbai, Breach Candy, Cumballa Hill, and Saifee hospitals, Mumbai. He is also a Hon. Surgeon at King Edward Memorial Hospital and Professor Emeritus at Seth G.S. Medical College, Mumbai. Dr. Kirtane has a special interest in cochlear implants, endoscopic sinus surgery, and neurotology. He was awarded the prestigious Dr.B.C.Roy award in 2005 by the President of India. He has about 50 publications in indexed journals and has authored books on otology and neurotology and endoscopic sinus surgery. He is Member and Ex-President of Association of Otolaryngologists of India, Founder President of the Sinus Endoscopic Society of India, and Founder Member of Indian Society of Otology and Indian Society of Laryngology. He also serves a Member and Joint Editor of Neurotological and Equilibriometric Society International and Member and Ex-President of Neurotological and Equilibriometric Society of India. He is also a Member of 4-G Forschung, Germany and American Rhinologic Society. Kirtane was the first member from India to be elected to the Barany Society, Sweden in 1983. He is on the Editorial Board of the International Tinnitus Journal and ISRN Otolaryngology, and Associate Editor of the Archives for Sensology and Neurootology in Science and Practice (ASN).



Padma Awards 2013

 Prof Mustansir Barma, Science and Engineering, Padma Shri

Padma Shri Prof. Mustansir Barma, is presently the Director of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai. He did a BSc in Physics and Mathematics from St. Xavier’s College through the University of Mumbai in 1970 and a Ph.D. in Physics from the State University of New York in Sony Brook in 1974. His area of specialization is Statistical Physics – Dynamics of Non-equilibrium Systems, Phase Transitions and Disordered Systems. He is a Fellow of several Scientific Institutions in India and abroad, including of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, at Trieste, Italy.

He is on the Editorial Board of several Scientific Journals, he has several scientific publications to his name, has received several academic honours and awards, and is on the Governing Boards of many Scientific Institutions. A scientist to the core, Prof. Barma has proved an inspiring administrator. Amidst all his responsibilities, Prof. Barma has been serving on the Academic Board of St. Xavier’s College – Autonomous for the last 3 years, helping his Alma Mater design an academic programme of excellence.

Mr. Adi Godrej, Trade & Industry, Padma Bhushan

Mr. Adi Godrej is the Chairman of The Godrej Group, a privately held, over 100 years-old family consumer goods conglomerate, with multiple offices and production units positioned in more than fifty countries all over the world.. Mr. Godrej did his schooling at St. Xavier’s High School, Mumbai, his higher secondary education at St. Xavier’s College and holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree from the Sloan School of Management at MIT.

Adi Godrej is regarded as the Business icon of the Indian Industry. Adi’s innovative ideas and inspiring leadership led to the growth of the Godrej group to great heights. His devoted efforts and widely appreciated management technique made their family’s company name synonymous with quality.

Adi is a generous philanthropist and has made numerous contributions to education including a children school in Mumbai and a management Institute in Hyderabad. He has offered core support to the “World Wildlife Fund” and development of a “Green business campus” featuring a 150 acre mangrove forest.

He is Chairman of several Business Associations and is on the Governing Body of some of the world’s most prestigious organisations, like the Indian School of Business and the Dean’s Advisory Council of the MIT Sloan School of Management. He was the Chairperson of the Confederation of Indian Industry. Adi has also been on the Advisory Council of St. Xavier’s College, helping to guide the College to Autonomy.

St. Xavier’s College is proud of its alumnus, Padma Bhushan Adi Godrej!


Mahrukh Tarapor, Art, Padma Shri

“Mahrukh Tarapor is one of the most widely respected museum professionals in the world,” said former Metropolitan Museum of Art director Philippe de Montebello, noting her “diplomatic skills, knowledge and energy”.

The Indian-born, American scholar whose fields of expertise include the arts of India, South Asia and the Islamic world, received a Ph.D from Harvard before joining New York’s Metropolitan Museum in 1983. A decade later, she was promoted to the post of associate director for exhibitions, travelling worldwide to negotiate loans for such highly acclaimed intercultural exhibitions as The Glory of Byzantium and its sequel Byzantium: Faith and Power (1997 and 2004), and Art of the First Cities and its sequel Beyond Babylon (2003 and 2008).

Simultaneously serving as The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s director for international affairs from 2006 to 2009, Tarapor expanded cultural relationships with other museums, as well as with governments in Europe, the Middle East, Australia and Asia.

Now a consultant working for major institutions such as the British Museum and the Prado, she also maintains a close relationship with the Indian government as a museum advisor.

Mahrukh is an alumna from St. Xavier’s College, Mumbai, where she did her undergraduate studies.



 Padma Awards 2012



The following is the complete list of the alumni who have been honored by the country

Padma Vibhushan Padma Bhushan

Padma Shri

Soli Sorabjee

Adi Godrej

Pankaj Udhas                                  

Fali Nariman

Sunil Gavaskar           

Anu Aga

Zubin Mehta

Ismail Merchant

Dr.Sanjeev Bagai

Homi N.Sethna

Vidya Dehejia          

Michael Ferreira

Nani Palkhivala

Dr. Jose Pereira           

Rajdeep Sardesai

Charles Correa

Shabana Azmi       

Dr. Purnima Mane

Azim Premji


Nari Contractor

 Mario de Miranda


Polly Umrigar



Dr. Ernest Borges



Khalid A.H.Ansari



Alyque Padamsee



Dr. Swati Piramal



Kavita Krishnamurthi



Ameen Sayani


Dr. Milind Kirtane


Vidya Balan


Prof. Mustansir Barma


Mahrukh Tarapor


Additional information